Month: December 2012

  • What a rollercoaster year.  Death, overworked, injury, surgery, moving, squirrels.  I wrapped up what I could of 2012, paid off bills, swept the floors, took out the trash today.  I’m ending the year sick but hoping tomorrow I wake up feeling much better.  I have a feeling it will happen. 

    In Germany, it’s not a New Year until Dinner for One is on tv apparently.  My Germans drink along with it.  I definitely can’t keep up.  Cheers!

    Everybody take care and have a great New Year’s Eve!

  • Kill It With Fire

    Many corny (literally) presents and opulent presents (cue the Rolex, definitely not mine) were passed around on Christmas.  Mine from The Kiddo and my future SIL was beautifully wrapped.  And beyond corny. 

    Making fun of my recent ordeal with the 2012 Bedroom Invasion from Above, I got this squirrel candle.  Therefore, I really can KILL IT WITH FIRE. 

    Thank you, Kiddo!  But I actually need at least 7 more to make the representative scurry or dray.  Scurry or dray sounds so benign.  It should be a murder of squirrels.    MURDER THEM WITH FIRE!!!!!

  • Costs for Hip Arthroscopy and Related Expenses

    As much as I can, I’ll keep track of these costs related to my hip arthroscopy because I’m getting hits looking for this.  I hope this helps give you an idea of what you may be facing if you’re having this procedure soon or you can tell me if this billing is way off compared to your procedure.  I saw on another blog where similar surgery was around $15k with an overnight stay in the hospital ($10k for the procedure alone, $5k for the overnight stay).  Total out of pocket for the hospital/surgery was $5k.  This did not include PT or follow up visits which I am including below.

    Background
    :  I have out of state insurance in California through my full-time job and I have to say, it’s the best insurance I’ve had so far.  The company pays a great majority of the premiums and the co-pays are normally around $10 for doctor office visits (not counting labs or x-ray).  I have one chronic illness, asthma, and I have my regular annual physical check-ups.  Pre-existing conditions were not a hinderance to my coverage. 

    I am aggregating the cost from day 1 seeing a new orthopedic surgeon about mystery pain in my hip related to running to release from post-surgery physical therapy.  I’ve been having pain running since 2009 and by intermittent rest breaks, taping, constant rotation of new shoes and braces, I made it to mid-2012 where I couldn’t take it anymore.  My procedure was for hip arthroscopy to repair a torn labrum and hip impingement.  This is the cost from July 31, 2012 to current day.

    I am using the insurance claims and claims pending online as a framework for now.  Please keep in mind the billed amounts are probably marked up for insurance coverage.  If paying straight out of pocket, hospitals and doctors may negotiate a different amount with the patient. 

    My ability to pay: I am full-time employed and have been for several years.  I am a single mother with a child in university, never married and self-sufficient.  In the process of purchasing a home which I do not recommend you do when you have surgery during a holiday season. 

    So now for the nitty gritty:

    Initial doctor/new patient visit, the protocol to rule out other causes and physical therapy:
    7 physical therapy sessions – $70, without insurance $3,450
    3 doctor visits w/o XRay – $30, without insurnace $154
    X-ray during doctor visit – $10, without insurance $74
    Total to Rule Out Pathology – $110/about $3,678

    Diagnosis:
    MRA at hospital- TBD – bill pending at $130, without insurance $3,274
    Radiologist – $0, without insurance $379
    Doctor visit for result/prognosis: $10, without insurance $70
    Total of diagnosis $140/$3,723

    Day of Surgery (updated 12/27)
    Hospital $459.18/$22,590.15
    Surgeon1 $104.11/$3,812
    Surgeon2 Pending/$2,528
    Radiology $10/$60

    Other?
    Total: $575 (not including pending)/$28,990


    Physical Therapy

    TBD, projected at 6-9 months total recovery

    Follow up visits

    Doctor visit – TBD

  • Pocky Gifts

    My anthropomorphic dog received not one but two puffy coats for Christmas. I think he really wanted a whole roast beast.

    20121225_092424-1-2

    Otherwise, everyone was playing the ukulele I got my niece while she played along with her pitch pipes.

    It was a very sweet night. When I can figure put my upload problem I’ll post what my future son-in-law and Kiddies got me. The theme was KILL IT! KILL IT WITH FIRE!!!!

  • Week 4 Post Surgery

    Week 4

    PT said to stay on crutches a little longer. There are still pain issues.

    Aqua therapy begins 2-3 times a week.  Stepping side to side in the water is very hard at first.  I was taking too big of steps and it contributed to my balancing problems.  For all directions, forward/backwards, side to side, this was the case.  Taking very small steps in the water and working on a normal gait.  It feels like it’s next to impossible that I’ll walk normally because I feel like I’m lurching to one side and PT confirms that’s what it looks like.  Step/clomp, step/clomp.  In one session, he holds my hips as I walk.  My leg is drifting towards the outside when go forward.  Damn.

    Aqua therapy ends with 15 minutes in the hot tub.  HOLY CRAP I LOVE THAT.

    Still sleeping on my back though sometimes I lay on my side with a pillow between my legs.  I don’t do that for long.

    Doing my PT exercises first thing when I wake up then follow with 30 min bike.  One day this week I couldn’t do bridges without cramping.  I wasn’t pushing through the heels so that wasn’t the cause.  I think it was fatigue from moving.

    I very much do not endorse moving house after surgery but boy am I lucky to have such great friends. 

  • I am very much loving working from my new home and especially my new 30 meg internet connection because it’s so fast and makes me a zillion more times efficient at my job.  I have to do a ton of unpacking and sorting for donations.  I couldn’t find socks yesterday.  Priorities being priorities, I ordered my giant tv before getting my washer and dryer.  I blame my lack of sleep. 

    Speaking of sleep, it’s wonderfully quiet and calm in this house.  I sleep like a baby.  I love it here.  I love the visitors I’ve had the last few days and I love that my dog is now here and is enjoying his surroundings. 

    I’ve decided on one thing so far.  Orange kitchen.  So it goes. 

  • Quick update

    I’ve been busy busy busy.  Packing, physical therapy and going back and forth to the new house.  Today, I’m writing you from my empty house except for me, my computer and a folding chair.  My wonderfully athletic running buddies are answering a call for extra arms and legs to help move boxes.  Sunday, the furniture comes in.  It’ll be a home soon.  The entire downstairs have white walls, a great blank slate.  Ten, fifteen years ago everything would be cool colored, maybe monochromatic.  I’m leaning towards warmth and sun and light. 

    Next week I start aqua therapy.  I was lectured by my PT that I have to stay on the crutches. No cane yet. I jumped the gun and I was using it incorrectly.  I didn’t realize that but it explains why my shoulders are so jacked. 

    Back to regular blogging after the move.  THANK YOU FOR ALL THE WELL WISHES!!!

  • Done

    I am a home owner!!

  • How was your day?

    A squirrel got in my attic and through my bedroom wall. Aaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhh!!!!!

  • argh

    I can’t type well on this tiny screen. But the mortgage is finally moving ahead. Banker said close Friday or monday. Don’t know if she means this Friday or next.

    Screw this screen and keyboard!