June 5, 2013

  • TMI

    Today I had the same team working on my contrast dye injection from October 2012.  Dr. S, whose nephew is a friend of my sister, my friend Monica and a tech were in the room.  Probably a minute after the second injection, I knew.  The whole area numbed and when the patient feels better during this part of test that brings the chances up of finding a tear. 

    The MRI tech was way better than the last one.  She gave me forewarning of each test and how long it would be so I’d have a chance to shift my position if I was feeling stiff or uncomfortable.  At one point, there was an involuntary knee jerk that freaked me the hell out and we had to redo one scan but it was only 4 minutes.  Even though I had earplugs, that machine was loud.  The steady, mechanical clatter brought me to two things:  Philip Glass and dubstep.  I was having a concert in my head.  Overall, the MRI’s took about 50 minutes.  It was a long afternoon of paperwork, shots and waiting and I just scarfed down a grilled cheese sandwich since I hadn’t eaten all day. 

    What now?  I don’t know.  I just told Christoph and it’s distressing.  Funny and distressing.  “Well, honey, I don’t know – just fly over here because if it’s a groin tear, it won’t make a difference if sex makes it worse since I’d need surgery to repair it anyway.  Do you want me to get you that pamphlet of alternate positions for post-surgery?”  I mean, come on.  For somebody so creative, the alternate positions thing is throwing him for a loop.  I told him to start doing yoga.  Not sure if he took me seriously or not. 

Comments (3)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *