December 19, 2012

  • Week 4 Post Surgery

    Week 4

    PT said to stay on crutches a little longer. There are still pain issues.

    Aqua therapy begins 2-3 times a week.  Stepping side to side in the water is very hard at first.  I was taking too big of steps and it contributed to my balancing problems.  For all directions, forward/backwards, side to side, this was the case.  Taking very small steps in the water and working on a normal gait.  It feels like it's next to impossible that I'll walk normally because I feel like I'm lurching to one side and PT confirms that's what it looks like.  Step/clomp, step/clomp.  In one session, he holds my hips as I walk.  My leg is drifting towards the outside when go forward.  Damn.

    Aqua therapy ends with 15 minutes in the hot tub.  HOLY CRAP I LOVE THAT.

    Still sleeping on my back though sometimes I lay on my side with a pillow between my legs.  I don't do that for long.

    Doing my PT exercises first thing when I wake up then follow with 30 min bike.  One day this week I couldn't do bridges without cramping.  I wasn't pushing through the heels so that wasn't the cause.  I think it was fatigue from moving.

    I very much do not endorse moving house after surgery but boy am I lucky to have such great friends.