January 5, 2013

  • Post Surgery Week 5

    Had a big setback with a cold that developed into bronchitis and a sinus infection.  My energy and oxygen was completely sapped but I modified my daily cycling to go back to the chair bike because sitting on my regular bike was dizzying.  I managed about 2 x 15 min the week from Christmas to New Years.

    I also managed to do the physical therapy exercises on my bed when I woke up in the morning.  Not much, but at least I did them.

    First land PT after aqua therapy was challenging.  Doing standing balancing exercises, 1 min x 5 on each leg every day.  Standing hamstring curls. Standing hip flexor stretching.  Calf raises.  Standing side leg lifts.  Continuing with the pelvic tilts and bridges.  Mini-squats.  Hamstring stretches and calf stretches.

    My walking is improving but I’m still favoring my non-surgery leg.  I’m clear to start 8-10 min treadmill walking a day on a very, very slow pace and the time I spend can be cut short if I don’t keep correct form.  My hip flexor is very, very tight so my steps are so short and sometimes my legs step too wide to the outside instead of straight ahead. 

    The most uncomfortable stretch is the figure 4/modified figure 4 stretch.  That’s the last thing I’ll do daily.

    Otherwise, driving ok, getting around the grocery (short trips only) and back at the office.  I really miss working from home though. 

    Will start swimming on Sunday.  Can do kicks in 25m increments with rest in between.  Otherwise, all pulls or ‘light’ kicking.  Mostly stopped because of my illness but so very ready to do something more challenging physically.

Comments (1)

  • Literally step by step you are healing and getting stronger.
    Too bad the work-from-home arrangement has ended.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *