January 19, 2013

  • Floating On

    I’m quite enjoying that I can do flip turns without pain so I created an easy swim playlist to get in touch with my inner porpoise.  It’s difficult to describe experiencing some of this music under water for the first time without using the words ‘surreal’ or ‘free’.  Water’s generally the place where I feel no pain and where I feel the pressures of the material world physically lifted from my body.  It is my my most easily accessible outlet. 

    At the top of my playlist is this song, Winter’s Love by Animal Collective and yesterday I could’ve had this on endless repeat as Friday was rough for me at work.  Floating, flowing, moving along.  Wash it all away.

    I love this life in winter time
    There’s frost cakes in the carpet
    In winter time I have no legs
    Two stumps of meat below me
    A false snow fall could ruin my day
    Its mask hung from the street wire
    And winters love
    Where could she be
    She’s warming in my pocket

    Just a calm and modern day
    Getting up early every morning
    Rush to work then rush to bed
    Am I a better person?
    Evening, I wont give up
    The box is better said
    I pulled the boy out of his box
    And made that boy a man

Comments (4)

  • When I used to swim a lot, I sang songs in my head a lot. I have a good internal music storehouse. There’s nothing like music in the swim.
    I’m so glad to hear you can have a good swim now! Happy healing!

  • More good news from your way. I love hearing interesting music from another new-to-me band.

    I had a stressful weekend – you saw my tweet. Think I’ll go take a hot shower and wash it all away; that’s my version of water therapy. My toe is feeling lots better, and Mr. Visa is putting 2 new tires on the car tomorrow. The silver lining: better traction for the rest of the winter.

  • @scifiknitter -  What about the dog? That was just a lot of unfortunate events to cram into a weekend!

  • Lenore, it was during October that Samwise almost got killed in traffic in Montreal. He broke loose from hubby to chase squirrels and ran into the very busy street when R. tried to catch him. Did run into the rear of a van, but little damage was done. He’s very anxious around cars, bikes, big trucks, etc. etc. – barks and lunges. We are working on having him pay closer attention to us. Also we found an alley very near A’s apartment that runs behind a row of buildings, so can get him away from traffic. He’s doing better – was much better behaved this visit – but we’re still training a hardheaded toddler.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *